Americana Awards Nominees; Ex-Wilco Guitarist Dies; New Fogerty and Snider Album News

New label, new album for Indianapolis favorite Todd Snider

Todd Snider’s next album The Excitement Plan, comes out June 9 and you can stream it now
listen here
 I like Todd (and love-love-love the live show) but need a couple more listens to the album. Underwhelmed right now. But then, that has happened before to me some great albums (always on U2 records and R.E.M records, it seems).
Here’s Todd telling a great bar story about meeting Slash:

Former Wilco band member Jay Bennett died at age 45 over the weekend. The multi-instrumentalist died in his Illinois home May 23. Things were pretty messed up for Jeffy Tweedy and him at the end for their time together, and Jay seemed to be searching for something. He wasn’t getting what he needed in the group, and left/was fired. His recent $50,000 lawsuit against the band for unpaid royalties was odd. This is just sad.

You can hear Wilco’s untitled new record  (set for a late June release) streaming on their website site at

John Fogerty has finished his next album, “John Fogerty: The Return of the Blue Ridge Rangers,” a sequel to his 1973 solo album. We don’t know when it’s coming out,” Fogerty tells “We’re in talks. Stuff can change.”

OK. We can live with that, if that is your answer, Mr. Fogerty. T-Bone Burnett produced the record, which means it will be a bit of a departure in sound for Fogerty who has fully embraced his old CCR sound on the most recent records.
Here’s some Fogerty (with Kenny A. bangin’ on drums) from last year:


Alejando Escovedo will pick up a load of AMA hardware - his most recent album "Real Animal" is deserving of honors
Alejando Escovedo will pick up a load of AMA hardware - his most recent album "Real Animal" is deserving of honors

The Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 8th Honors and Awards ceremony

  The ceremony will be held September 17 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, during the Americana Festival and Conference. It’ll be hosted by Jim Lauderdale, featuring a band led by Buddy Miller.

Album of the Year
Real Animal, Alejandro Escovedo
Written in Chalk, Buddy & Julie Miller
Jason Isbell & The 40 Unit, Jason Isbell & The 40 Unit
Midnight At The Movies, Justin Townes Earle

Artist of the Year
Alejandro Escovedo
Buddy Miller
Justin Townes Earle
Raul Malo

Instrumentalist of the Year
Buddy Miller
Gurf Morlix
Jerry Douglas
Sam Bush

New & Emerging Artist
Band of Heathens
The Belleville Outfit
Justin Townes Earle
Sarah Borges

Song of the Year
Written by Julie Miller
Performed by Buddy Miller & Patty Griffin
“Country Love”
The Gourds
“Homeland Refugee”
Written by Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and Butch Hancock
Performed by The Flatlanders
“Rattlin’ Bones”
Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson
“Sex And Gasoline”
Rodney Crowell
Duo/Group of the Year
Buddy & Julie Miller
The Flatlanders
Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson
Reckless Kelly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s